Home > Uncategorized > Thursday after Ash Wednesday

Thursday after Ash Wednesday

Luke 1:57–80

The thing that began to happen with the announcement to Mary continues to happen in the song of Zechariah.  God was acting and they had front row seats to watch the promise come to fulfillment.

Think of poor Elizabeth, shamed in her community because she never bore a child.  Think of poor Zechariah who’s wife never gave him an heir to pass down the high priestly office to the next generation.  We think differently about childless couples today but in their day, many people speculated whether they had been cursed by God.

And with the birth of John, of course it was just the opposite of a curse from God.  What God had been waiting to do, He began to do all at once.  What’s worse though for poor Zechariah and Elizabeth is that ever since he had learned what would happen he had not been able to speak.  Who will name the baby?  Elizabeth?  that’s odd, but then this whole situation has been odd.   Odder still, she says her son will not be named after his father.  They make sure to ask him.  He writes it down for them, “His name is John.”

But it’s as if there’s no time to marvel at that mystery because suddenly the old man can speak again and what seems what was bottled up for 9 months came rushing out all at once.  And like Mary’s song from yesterday, Zechariah sings of God’s triumph as if its already taken place.  It’s as good as done in his mind.  And John is right in the middle of it.  He will walk before the coming one as God’s spokesman, to tell the people what God is doing in no uncertain terms.  The dawn from on high shall break in front of our very eyes and light our way to the peace that comes from God.  It’s beautiful.  And it’s happening!

This is a moment to ponder what what has been done in sending Jesus into the world.  Are you awestruck as you think about it?  This is, after all, the God of the universe acting to rescue people from sin and death.

Listen for a voice to say, “It’s true.  I have done it.  I am making all things new.  You’re a part of it.”

What is my role in this?  For what tasks in the kingdom of God have I been equipped?  Where can I shine a light in the darkness and bring the peace of Jesus?

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Sue Meyer
    February 12, 2016 at 12:24 am

    I think part of the problem in appreciating what God has done for me; intervening in the history of the world; changing the outcome for my soul; destroying Satan in a war raging all around me while I blindly get upset over “what to eat” and “what to wear” is that it is so huge! It is too huge for me to get my mind around it. I suppose that is why I can at times just dismiss the explosive power of God in my life. It is only when the Holy Spirit gives me the power to “lose my mind” (I don’t need to understand it), and the power to cut the bonds that hold me to worldly things, that dimly, vaguely, just at the edge of my sensibilities I behold the glorious light and joy and love and life that is God.

    “Lord, Thee I love with all my heart; I pray Thee ne’er from me depart, With tender mercy cheer me.
    Earth has no pleasure I would share, Yea, heav’n itself were void and bare If Thou, Lord, wert not near me.
    And should my heart for sorrow break, My trust in Thee no one could shake. Thou art the Portion I have sought; Thy precious blood my soul has bought.
    Lord Jesus Christ, My God and Lord, my God and Lord,
    Forsake me not! I trust Thy Word.”

    And that is when that powerful yearning and anticipation and excitement for the coming restoration of my soul, when all sin is finally shaken off and I will be able to see my God, and be with Him, and worship and love Him perfectly and experience my life in full has He had always intended!

    sue

  2. February 12, 2016 at 12:28 am

    A powerful reflection and a wonderful hymn to quote in conjunction with this thought. If I stand still long enough, I’m left awestruck by God’s action.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

