Home > Uncategorized > Called to another area of the Lord’s vineyard

Called to another area of the Lord’s vineyard

From a few comments here and there that have trickled in over the years, I know that there are a few occasional readers of this blog that might not know that back in April, on the Second Sunday of Easter, Heavenly Host Lutheran Church and School in Cookeville, TN, were led by the Lord of the Church to extend a divine call to me to be their pastor.

My prayerful deliberation of this call was not nearly so easy as some thought.  But the primary consideration a pastor must make is the application of his skills and abilities and where those skills and abilities might best be used.  And after almost 6 weeks, it was evident to me and to most everyone who knew me well, where I might best be used in the Lord’s vineyard.

And so, after finishing up a few house projects, painting kitchen cabinets and new floors in the kitchen and master bathroom, as well as taking down some dying shrubbery outside, we’re here in Cookeville, Tennessee.

The people at Augustana were sad to see me go, as sad as I was to leave.  And the people of Heavenly Host have been warm and supportive and so very friendly.  I’m still asking for prayers as I transition into a very different role here.  I still pray for the folks at Augustana because they are a flock without a shepherd now.  The Lord will provide.  And I pray now for the folks here at Heavenly Host because they are trying to adjust to new pastor, which is never quite as easy as it might sound.

A dear friend sent me a collect in an email which I have been praying regularly.  I think you’ll see why.

Lord God, You have called Your servants to ventures of which we cannot see the ending, by paths as yet untrodden, through perils unknown. Give us faith to go out with good courage, not knowing where we go but only that Your hand is leading us and Your love supporting us; through Jesus Christ, our Lord.  (LSB Altar Book, p. 449)

Amen.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

